Databases

Please CONTACT US if you experience any difficulty accessing databases.

 

Access to these databases may require additional login via OpenAthens.
If you have any queries about accessing or using these databases, please contact us.

For further information on information skills training that we provide, please see our training page.

Do you work for a local authority? See our LAPH Support page for more information on resources available to you.

Looking for resources to find Grey Literature? See our Grey Literature page.

Jump to: Available Platforms

 

AMED
(Access for PHE staff only)
Click here to visit the Medline database via Ovid
Bibliographic database produced by the Health care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.

OVID quick reference guide

BMJ Best Practice
(Access for NHS OpenAthens account holders only – including local authority public health and PHE staff)
A point of care tool that draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.
BNI: British Nursing Index

A leading database for the support of practice, education, research, and development for nurses, midwives, health visitors, and healthcare assistants working in the UK or following UK practice.
British Pharmacopeia
(Available for PHE staff only)
The BP makes an important contribution to the role of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) in protecting public health by providing quality standards for UK pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products.
Campbell Collaboration

The Campbell Collaboration promotes positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice.
CINAHL Complete
(Available for PHE staff only)
For nursing and allied health journals.

EBSCO User Guide

Cochrane Library

Collection of 6 databases containing high-quality independent evidence.

Cochrane quick reference guide

EconLit
(Available for PHE staff only)
The American Economic Association’s comprehensive resource to the world’s economic literature.
Embase
(Available for PHE staff only)
Click here to visit the Medline database via Ovid
Biomedical and pharmacological database of articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.

OVID quick reference guide

Emcare (OVID)
(Available for PHE staff only)
Click here to visit the Medline database via Ovid
A Nursing and Allied Health research database.

OVID quick reference guide

ERIC

Database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.

EBSCO User Guide

ETHos

British Library collection of over 475,000 doctoral theses.
Food Science Technology Abstracts – FSTA
(Available for PHE staff only)Click to visit this database.
Database of information on food science, food technology, and nutrition.

EBSCO User Guide

Global Health
(Available for PHE staff only)
Bibliographic abstracting & indexing database dedicated to public health,
completing the picture of
international medical and health research.EBSCO User Guide
Global Health Archive
(Available for PHE staff only)
1910 – 1972 Back File

EBSCO User Guide

 

Health Business Elite
(Available for PHE staff only)
Health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management and insurance.

EBSCO User Guide

 

HMIC: Health Management Information Consortium
(Available for PHE staff only)
Click here to visit the Medline database via Ovid
A compilation of data from two sources, the Department of Health’s Library and Information Services and King’s Fund Information and Library Service.

OVID quick reference guide

Health Research Premium Collection
(Access for NHS OpenAthens account holders only – including local authority public health and PHE staff)
Over 4,500 full text health and medical journals, plus instructional videos, grey literature, and more.
The King’s Fund

An independent charity providing independent views on health and social care.
Medline
(Access for PHE staff only)
Click here to visit the Medline database via Ovid
Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

OVID quick reference guide

PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress
(Access for NHS OpenAthens account holders only – including local authority public health and PHE staff)
Literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.
PsycARTICLES
(Access for NHS OpenAthens account holders only – including local authority public health and PHE staff)
Database of full text peer-reviewed articles published by APA and affiliated journals.
PsycINFO
(Access for PHE staff only)
Click here to visit the Medline database via Ovid
Providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural and health sciences.

OVID quick reference guide

SAGE Research Methods & Cases
(Access for PHE staff only)
A research methods tool to help researchers with their research projects.
SAGE Research Methods links over SAGE’s book, journal and reference content.Sage quick reference guide
SCOPUS
(Available for PHE staff only)

(Not supported on IE9 or lower)
The largest abstract & citation database of peer reviewed literature: journals, books & conference proceedings.

Scopus quick reference guide

Social Care Online The UK’s largest database of social care and social work.
Social Policy & Practice
(Access for PHE staff only)

Click here to visit the social Policy & Practice database via Ovid
Social Policy & Practice brings together information from six of the UK’s leading collections of social policy and practice resources.

OVID quick reference guide

SocINDEX
(Access for PHE staff only)

This database is a comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database

EBSCO User Guide

TRIP Database Pro
(Access for NHS OpenAthens account holders only – including local authority public health and PHE staff)

A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly & easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

TRIP User Guide

 

 

Available platforms
EBSCOhost
(Available for PHE staff only)
Access to CINAHL, EconLit, ERIC, Food Science & Technology Abstracts,  Health Business Elite, Medline, Psychology & Behavioural Sciences Collection, and SocIndex.

EBSCO User Guide

OVID
(Available for PHE staff only)
Access to AMED, Embase, Global Health Archive, HMIC, MEDLINE,
and Social Policy and Practice. Also provides access to ebooks and ejournals.OVID quick reference guide
NICE Healthcare databases
(Access for NHS OpenAthens account holders only – including local authority public health and PHE staff)
Including Medline, British Nursing Index, CINAHL, EMBASE, HMIC, PsycINFO
ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection.
(Access for NHS OpenAthens account holders only – including local authority public health and PHE staff)
Over 4,500 full text health and medical journals, plus instructional videos, grey literature, and more
SAGE Research Methods & Cases
(Access for PHE staff only)
A research methods tool to help researchers with their research projects.
SAGE Research Methods links over SAGE’s book, journal and reference content.Sage quick reference guide

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email